BetterPhoto’s worldwide reach

I recently finished my 39th online photo workshop course on BetterPhoto, and currently teaching my 40th – I started teaching with them in late 2006, and mainly teach an exposure course entitled “Better Exposure- How to Meter Light“. BetterPhoto.com a great online photo community, free to the public, with 4-week and 8-week photo courses ranging from $198 to $348, as well as websites you are purchase for your own photography.

But I don’t want this to sound like an ad for the online workshop company or my classes there. I mainly wanted to mention how amazing it’s been teaching people around the world – the wide reach of this online company that started in 1996 in Redmond, Washington.

When I first started with BP, I first wondered if I’d be able to teach as well online compared to what I do in live field courses. If my personality could come through in the four weeks I spent with my students (four lessons, four assignments, four critiques, with a Q&A section in our Campus Square site). And luckily it has. People get that I’m an easy-going guy that likes to make others laugh, as well as pack them with tons of good info. And although we can’t all shoot together in the field, the course offers a chance for people to learn on their own time and schedule, while capturing the subject they’re most interested in.

To date, I’ve taught photo enthusiasts in 43 US States and 37 countries – wild – countries including America Samoa, Aruba, Australia, Bahamas, Belgium, Bermuda, Canada, Cayman Islands, Ecuador, El Salvador, England, Finland, Hong Kong, India, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Macedonia, Mexico, Namibia, New Zealand, the Netherlands (Holland), Oman, Panama, Puerto Rico, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Trinidad & Tobago, and the United Arab Emirates.

I recently had my first student from Paris France, as well as Vietnam, and this month have a gentleman from Istanbul Turkey. All walks of life, from at-home Moms to traveling businessmen, retired grandfathers to college-bound teenagers excited about a new hobby.

It’s wonderful to know so many appreciate the art of photography, and have such a passion and love for it. And I truly enjoy giving these great folks some of the tools to help improve their photographic skills. Of course I’ll always have the passion to produce my own images I found interesting, to capture assignments for publications or produce shoots for ad and corporate clients- but to know I’ve had the chance to connect with so many in this amazing online medium is truly a joy.

Check ’em out if you get a chance- all kinds of courses for beginners to advanced, exposure to photoshop:  BetterPhoto.com
Leave a Reply

