Join me on a nature shoot- December in the Sierras

For anyone interested, I’m planning to capture winter scenes in Yosemite National Park, the Alabama Hills (outside of Lone Pine) and in Death Valley sometime in December – creating new images and research for a few upcoming books and workshops.

If you are interested in joining me for three days of shooting, sunrises and sunsets, for a small fee ($250/person – 10 person limit) contact me via email.

This isn’t a planned event or workshop with a specific agenda. I’ll simply share my thoughts on photographing the outdoors while we shoot, talk about equipment tips, and so on. We’ll capture images together, you can watch how I work if you wish, see the gear I carry, and talk all about photography. I’ll also sign my Exposure book (if you bought one of my books, bring it along & I’ll sign it- and I’ll have copies with me).

We’ll have a great time in some beautiful locations.

This is something I did last January. I invited a group to join me in Yosemite to photograph for a day while I captured images for my new book on nature photography. They paid a $100 fee to join me that day, I had eight people, and they all loved the experience (thankfully)- said it was well worth it. I shared a ton on photography, but it’s a bit different since I’m shooting images (instead of a workshop where I would focus more on students and their equipment and needs).

So here’s the plan this time around. I envisioned a 3-day road trip photo shoot – first in Yosemite, then off to Lone Pine (Alabama Hills), then finally in Death Valley – one day in each (and some travel of course between locations). We could all shoot together and learn from me, just as long as the group knows I’ll be shooting as well most of the time (I reiterate this only because some think I’m solely there for them). It’s actually a great way to learn, and a way preferred by many, but again different from my normal workshops.

SCHEDULE (somewhat flexible depending on weather & how tired we all might be)

Day 1: We’d meet in Yosemite on the first day at sunrise, shoot all day ’til sunset, have dinner together & spend the night, then head off to Lone Pine (probably the next morning).

Day 2: Shoot sunrise again, drive to Lone Pine/ Alabama Hills, shoot sunset in Lone Pine/ Alabama Hills, spend the night.

Day 3: Shoot sunrise in Lone Pine/ Alabama Hills, then head off to Death Valley, shoot sunset

Day 4: Shoot sunrise, drive home

COST:
$250 per person (not including travel/ gas/ food/ car, etc) and I’d need a group of at least eight, ideally ten.

DATES:
Haven’t decided on specific dates yet, but thinking sometime around December 15th. I’m flexible – if dates worked for the majority of the group, then I’d try to work around that.

If you’re interested, contact me at:

Thank you and Happy early Thanksgiving!
Leave a Reply

